top of page

Rotten Tomatoes' Newest Love


As a lover of both HBO's Girls and Netflix's Black Mirror, when I saw a movie starring both Allison Williams and Daniel Kaluuya, I knew I had to see it! After attending an early screening of director Jordan Peele's newest blockbuster, Get Out, I was delighted to see that celebrities and critics alike were praising this new-age horror/mystery, as it has to be one of my favorite movies of 2017 so far! The film had just the right amount of jump scares and some great character development, even for some of the minor roles. It was also great to see that Peele was able to not only give you a suspenseful, edge of your seat film, but was able to infuse just the perfect amount of humor, a characteristic of Peele's films.

For me, the crowning part of this film was the performance by the leading stars. Kaluuya gave a heart-wrenching performance, while Williams truly made you question who you can really trust in your life. For twists you really didn't see coming, Get Out is a film that I can nothing but recommend. Something I read on Twitter really struck a cord for me, it was refreshing to see a movie where a black character was not the one to fear, but the one that was fearing of something. Sadly Hollywood does not typically make this choice in plot writing, but Peele took a chance and struck a cord with audiences, getting an 84% praise of the film. It also received 100% on Rotten Tomatoes, something I personally do not remember seeing before.

A 10 out of 10 for me! An Oscar winner? No probably not, but a film that makes you think and really is worth the view? 100% percent!!!!

Go see Get Out ASAP! Hit theaters today!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page